For the second session with B, I decided to continue with what he learned the other day in order to enhance his comprehension. We again matched the words with the pictures in various ways. B showed much more confidence with the vocabulary words and was able to match most of the pictures with the proper words. The ones which still pose a problem are ruler and crayon. In addition, he understands the word book but has difficulties distinguishing between the two different kinds. 
    In order to practice the writing of the vocabulary words, I gave B a crossword to complete. The clues were the photos of each object. He would tell me the word and then write it into the space provided. When stuck  for spelling, B would look through the words until he found the matching one and copy it down. He did this with no problems.
    We rounded off the session with the addition of two more words to his vocabulary book. I gave him the choice of which words he would like to add and was pleasantly surprised when he chose to copy the two variations of book which have been giving him difficulty. He is displaying his want to do better and to enhance his own understanding of the language. To continue next week, I plan on introducing sentences which including yes/no  answers, a question, and phrases worded with "I have".



Leave a Reply.

    Miss Gloge

    Welcome! My name is Miss Gloge and in this blog, you will find my experiences in working with a young boy of the age of 8 who is learning English as a second language. We worked on his language skills for 5 weeks and these were my findings.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All