Picture
To start off this week, we had a review of the words B went over the week before. He did better than before and only had difficulties with ruler, textbook, and crayon. B has demonstrated that he is not guessing as much and is making the link between the words in oral and written form.

To introduce something new this week, I decided to introduce the idea of sentences. This was something he seemed  little more uncomfortable with. He says the sentences after I say them, but hardly does it other times due to an apparent lack of confidence in his understanding. The sentences were "Do you have....", "Yes, I do.", "No I don't", and "Do you have...?". We practiced saying them a few times before moving on to something new.

Studies have shown that students who are learning a new language respond well to games. I found a board game which would encourage B to practice his sentences, but he would only say them with encouragement. This may change over time and we will continue to work on his sentences.




Leave a Reply.

    Miss Gloge

    Welcome! My name is Miss Gloge and in this blog, you will find my experiences in working with a young boy of the age of 8 who is learning English as a second language. We worked on his language skills for 5 weeks and these were my findings.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All