Picture
    This week I decided to shift our focus from the connection between the images and the words to working simply with the written vocabulary. To begin, I had B read out each of the words I laid out. Once again, the only words he had troubles with were "crayon" and "ruler". I suspect that this may be a result of a difficulty with the letter "R".
    To practice with the construction of the words, I had B complete a word scramble. This was presented as a fun game, but is intended to present the vocabulary in another way to practice writing it. What was interesting was that B did not recognize the letters in the words as a whole. He counted the number of letters present and began to count the number of letters in the words he knew. This tells me that he recognizes the word as a set of letters in one specific pattern. As soon as those letters are moved in any way, the word disappears. 
    For the other activity, we continued our practice with the coin flick game. He was just as enthusiastic about this as before and was quickly choosing where he would aim the coin. Once again, he copied the sentence that matched the image and read it out loud. He does have some problems with the word "have" but is able to recognize the rest. I also noticed that he is beginning to write down some of the names of objects without referring to the word slips provided. 
    When we return from the break, I intend to introduce a new set of words. We will complete some activities which mix the two word sets, while others will deal exclusively with the new words. A couple of games I hope to introduce is a version of "Go Fish" as well as a version of the word scramble using letter tiles from "Bananagrams".




Leave a Reply.

    Miss Gloge

    Welcome! My name is Miss Gloge and in this blog, you will find my experiences in working with a young boy of the age of 8 who is learning English as a second language. We worked on his language skills for 5 weeks and these were my findings.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All